Sherlock Holmes (1984)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1984–1985), The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1986–1988), The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1991–1993) and The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1994), collectively known as Sherlock Holmes, are a series of adaptations of Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes stories which were produced by Granada Television and originally broadcast by ITV in the United Kingdom. The series starred Jeremy Brett as Holmes and David Burke (in the Adventures series) and Edward Hardwicke (Return, Case-Book, Memoirs) as Dr. Watson. The programme adapted 42 of the original stories in 41 episodes, with 36 running for 50 minutes (in a one-hour timeslot), and five being feature-length specials. Adventures ran for two series totalling 13 episodes, from April to June 1984 and August to September 1985. Return ran for two series from July to August 1986 and April to August 1988, as well as the specials "The Sign of Four" and "The Hound of the Baskervilles", which aired on 29 December 1987 and 31 August 1988 respectively. Case-Book ran for one series from February to March 1991 and three specials which aired on 2 January 1992 and 27 January and 3 February 1993. Memoirs ran for one series from March to April 1994. A short episode was also produced as part of "The Four Oaks Mystery" which aired during the ITV Telethon in 1992. Sherlock Holmes appeared in the first part, with the casts of Van der Valk, Taggart and Inspector Wexford appearing in the second, third and fourth parts respectively.

  • Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Michael Cox
  • John Hawkesworth
Seasons: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
themoviedb icon 8.1/10
  • Release Date: 1984-04-24
  • Views: 469
  • Country: GB
  • Language: En
  • Runtime: 60

Fiona Shaw


Jude Law


John Thaw


Edward Hardwicke

Dr. Watson

Jeremy Brett

Sherlock Holmes

Ronald Lacey


Robert Hardy


John Castle


James Wilby


Kiran Shah


Adrian Lukis


Colin Jeavons

Inspector Lestrade

Rosalie Williams

Mrs. Hudson

David Burke

Dr. Watson

Catherine Russell

Grace Dunbar

Norma West

Lady Diana Swinstead

Barry Lowe (1925)

John Straker

Catherine Rabett

Young Nancy

David Ross (1945)

Inspector Martin

Colin Campbell (1937)

Private Bates

Michael Lumsden

Young Henry Wood

David Gwillim

Percy Phelps

Jonathan Coy

Fitzroy Simpson

Barry Lowe

John Straker

Alison Skilbeck

Annie Harrison

Eve Matheson

Miss Tangey

Anthony Valentine

Baron Gruner

John Castle (II)


Alf Joint


Barbara Wilshere

Violet Smith

Michael Bilton


Paul Chapman

Major Murphy

David Mallinson

Colonel Dorking

Andrew Wilde

Sergeant Coventry

Renu Setna

Write one

Sorry, no results found.